SB 020 Air Quality Policy Advisory Board Sunset Extension


Extends the sunset of the Air Quality Policy Advisory Board from July 1, 2021, to July 1, 2026. 

This important state board meets monthly during interim and more frequently during the general legislative session to review and recommend potential air quality legislation. Our Executive Director, Ashley Miller, was appointed by Governor Herbert to this board in 2017 and currently serves as vice-chair. The board is made up of 10 members representing the legislature, Division of Air Quality, business, academia, and NGO. **The second substitute, adopted 1/27/21, adds 2 more members of the academic community with air quality expertise, appointed by the Governor. 

Current Board Members:

Senator Todd Weiler, R. Woods Cross

Senator Luz Escailla, D. Salt Lake City

Representative Angela Romero, D. Salt Lake City

Representative Tim Hawkes, R. Centerville

Representative Carl Albrecht, R. Richfield

Bryce Bird, Utah Division of Air Quality

Dr. Kerry Kelly, University of Utah

Ashley Miller, Breathe Utah

Todd Bingham, Utah Manufacturers Association

Ty McCutcheon, Daybreak Communities


  • Sen. Iwamoto, Jani. 
  • Rep. Watkins, Christine.



Status : PASSED

2/5 Signed by Senate President. Sent for Enrolling. 

2/4 Senate Concurred with House Amendment. 28-0-1

2/3 House 3rd Reading. Passed. 73-0-2

1/27 House Natural Resources, Agriculture and Environment. Second Substitute adopted. Passed, favorable reccommendation. 9-0-5

1/19 Passed 2nd Reading. 27-0-2

Scheduled Hearings

Past Hearings

1/27 Wednesday. House Natural Resources. 2:00. AGENDA. Audio streaming available from calendar. *Video is not available for this hearing. 



Additional Info

  • Position: SUPPORT
  • Bills: PASSED